JANUARY 3, 2012

Pursuant to adjournment comes now the Starke County Council and meet in reorganization session at 6:00 p.m. in the Annex meeting room, Knox, Indiana, with Marvin McLaughlin absent, and the following proceedings were held to wit:

The meeting was called to order by Council President, Mark Smith.

IN RE: MINUTES

Councilman Semans made a motion to approve the December 19th, 2011 council minutes, seconded by Councilman Radkiewicz. The motion passed with all ayes.

IN RE: REORGANIZATION OF COUNCIL

Council President, Mark Smith, announced he was not seeking the Council Presidency in 2012. He opened the floor for nominations for Council President. Councilman Semans nominated Councilman Pearman. There being no more nominations, a vote was taken, and passed with all ayes.

President Smith then open the floor for nominations for Council Vice President. President Elect Pearman nominated Council Semans for Council Vice President. There being no more nominations, a vote was taken, and passed with all ayes.

Councilman Semans made a motion to reappoint Marty Lucas as the Council's attorney, seconded by President Elect Pearman. The motion passed with all ayes.

IN RE: BOARD APPOINTMENTS

Councilwoman Benninghoff made a motion to appoint Councilman Semans to be the council representative on the Starke County Economic Development Board. Councilman Radkiewicz seconded the motion, and it passed with all ayes.

President Elect Pearman made a motion to appoint Councilman Semans as the council representative on the KIRPC Board, seconded by Councilwoman Benninghoff. The motion passed with all ayes.

Councilman Sims made a motion to reappoint Councilwoman Benninghoff as the council representative on the Starke County Planning Commission. Councilman Radkiewicz seconded the motion and it passed with all ayes. Councilman Radkiewicz made a motion to reappoint Kenneth Wallace to the Starke County Alcoholic Beverage Board, seconded by Councilman Semans. The motion passed with 5 ayes, and one ney. Councilwoman Benninghoff voted in opposition to the reappointment.

Councilman Semans made a motion to reappoint Councilman Radkiewicz to the Starke County Solid Waste Board, seconded by President Elect Pearman. The motion passed with all ayes.

Councilman Semans made a motion to table the appointment to the Starke County PTABOA Board until proper certification of candidates is verified, seconded by Councilwoman Benninghoff. The motion passed with all ayes, and the matter will be discussed with County Assessor, Rhonda Milner.

President Mark Smith advised he was aware there may be an opening on the Starke County Library Board, but that was not verified. He advised the Library be contacted in regard to the situation, and to table any possible appointment until the next meeting.

A discussion of the Board took place in regard to the county transferring a portion of the unexpended amount of the County General Fund into the County's Rainy Day Fund. Attorney Lucas reminded the Board that they could transfer up to 10% of the total County General Fund budget. A request was made for Auditor Chaffins to submit to the Board, at their next meeting, budget status reports, from the end of the year of 2011, 2010, 2009 and 2008. The Board would like to compare the year-end total of the amount of each year's budget that wasn't expended.

Councilman Semans made a motion to schedule the Council's regular monthly meeting to take place on the third Monday of the month, at 6:00PM, in the County's Annex Meeting Room. The motion was seconded by Councilman Radkiewicz, and passed with all ayes.

In regard to the Council members that are on the County Police Pension Committee, which include Councilwoman Benninghoff, Councilman Sims, and President-Elect Pearman, a meeting was scheduled to take place on Monday, Feb. 20th, at 5:00PM.

With there being no further business to come before the Board, Councilwoman Benninghoff made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Councilman Radkiewicz. The meeting was adjourned at 6:37PM.

	January 3 rd , 2012	
Dave Pearman, President	Mitch Semans, Vice President	

Judy Benninghoff	ABSENT Marvin McLaughlin
Tony Radkiewicz	Robert Sims
Mark Smith	Katherine Chaffins , Starke CountyAuditor and Secretary to the County Council