Thursday, October 10, 2013

Pursuant to adjournment comes now the Starke County Board of Commissioners and meet in special session at 10:00AM in the Annex Meeting Room, Knox, Indiana, with Commissioners Kathy Norem, Jennifer Davis, and Kent Danford present and the following proceedings were held to wit:

President Norem called the meeting to order at 10:00AM. Present at the meeting was Ron Henigsmith of the Building Corporation, Scott Carnegie of DLZ Corporation, Scott Cherry and Dion Katsouros of Skillman Corporation, and County Attorney Marty Lucas.

President Norem advised the purpose of the meeting was to open the bids received for the County's Jail Project. She advised the County had received a notice via email from JAILS Correctional Products protesting their exclusion from the bid process and challenging the pre-bid prequalification specifications. She advised the County will be receiving the same notice via certified mail.

County Attorney Lucas inquired if all the bids received were in a timely manner, as of 10:00AM on October 10th, and he was advised they were. Attorney Lucas, with the assistance of Dion Katsouros opened the bids one by one. Attorney Lucas read aloud each bid beginning with No. 01-General Trades/Sitework. Bids were received in each of the following categories: Masonry, Drywall/Acoustical, Flooring, Painting, Kitchen Equipment, Detention Equipment/Security Electronics, Fire Suppression, Mechanical, Plumbing, and Electrical.

(A listing of the bids received and the bid prices are on file in the Auditor's Office.)

Commissioner Danford made a motion to take the bids under advisement, and certify they are in compliance with the bid specifications. Commissioner Davis seconded the motion, and it passed with all ayes.

President Norem advised the Board will make the awarding decisions at their October 21st meeting.

There being no further business, Commissioner Danford made a motion to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Commissioner Davis. The motion passed with all ayes, and the meeting was adjourned at 11:08AM.

October 10, 2013	
Kathy Norem, President	Jennifer Davis, Vice-President
Kent Danford	Katherine Chaffins, Auditor & Secretary to the Board of Commissioners