BIRTH APP

LICATION BY MAIL

YOU MUST INCLUDE A PHOTOCO

PY OF A PHOTO L.D. OR DRIVERS LICENSE

AND A SELF ADDRESSED STAMPED ENVELOPE

STARKE COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT
VITAL RECORDS DIVISION

1

08 N Pearl St

KNOX, INDIANA 46534
TEL: (574) 772-9174
FAX: (574) 772-8035

WARNING:

False application to obtain or inspect,

Altering, mutilating, or counterfeiting Indiana
BirthCertificates, or the use of such a certificate, is
a Criminal offense under 1C16-37-1-12.

In accordance with Indiana Code 16-37-1-7, requests
for birth cert. must include the information below. A
permanent record of this request must be kept on file.

FOR SEARCH & CERTIFIED COPY OF BIRTH RECORD
WE HAVE STARKE COUNTY BIRTHS ONLY!!!
PLEASE COMPLETE ALL ITEMS BELOW
PHOTO IDENTIFICATION IS REQUIRED IN ACCORDANCE WITH IC 16-37-1-8,

ALONG WITH PROOF OF RELATION.

FULL NAME AT
BIRTH

NAME AFTER ANY LEGAL CHANGES/COURT ORD

ERD PATERNITY/ADOPTION:

Has this person been adopted? Yes No

HOW ARE YOU RELATED TO THE ABOVE PERSON?

PLACE OF BIRTH (CITY)

(COUNTY)

DATE OF BIRTH

AGE

FULL NAME OF FATHER

STATE OF BIRTH

If adopted, give adoptive father’s name

FULL MAIDEN NAME OF MOTHER

STATE OF BIRTH

If adopted, give adoptive mother’s name

WHY DO YOU NEED THIS RECORD?

HOW MANY COPIES DO YOU WANT?

YOUR SIGNATURE

PHONE NO.

YOUR ADDRESS

CITY/STATE 1P

TODAY’S DATE TOT

AL FEE $ MONEY ORDER

IF ALL ITEMS ON APPLICATION ARE NOT COMPLETED, THIS FORM WILL BE RETURNED

Form of I.D. Used:

Name on
I.D.

FEES: $10.00 Genealogy fee 1-10 names
$10.00 For first copy birth certificate
and each additional copy




BIRTH INFORMATION (/ISDH/26767.HTM) / WHO CAN OBTAIN A BIRTH CERTIFICATE

Who Can Obtain a Birth Certificate

Indiana Codes 16-37-1-10, 16-37-1-11, and 16-37-1-11.5 serve as the State statutes for the fees, relationship, and identification
requirements to purchase documents from the Vital Records office. The purchaser must have a “direct interest.” A direct
interest is defined as a documented and verifiable financial and legal interest, or an immediate direct kinship (parent, adult
sibling, or grandparent) to the person named on the record.

Others such as guardians, attorneys, funeral directors, or other authorized agents acting on behalf of the registrant or their
family may demonstrate a direct interest when information is needed for determination or protection of personal or property
rights.

Depending on the individual's interest in the record, additional documentation may be required.

¢ Parents of the individual listed on the certificate - must be listed on the record

* Grandparents of the individual listed on the certificate - must be parent of a parent listed on the record & show proof of
relationship

e Sibling, 18 years or older, of individual listed on the certificate - must show proof of relationship

* Child or Grandchild, 18 years or older, of individual named on the certificate - must show proof of relationship

¢ Current Spouse of individual named on the certificate - must show proof of marriage

e Aunt or Uncle of individual named on the certificate - must show proof of relationship

e Step-Parent of individual named on the certificate - must have ID with valid marriage certificate

¢ Court-Appointed Legal Guardian - must have ID and provide guardianship papers with seal

* Attorney representing individual named on the certificate - must have ID for self and provide a document with direct
interest spelled out on letter head or court documents

¢ Genealogy - individual named on the certificate must be over 75 years old and deceased - must show proof of death

* Social Agency - must have work ID with court documents or signed authorization from client

* State and Federal Agencies - must have work ID and provide a document with direct interest spelled out on letter head,
court documents, or signed authorization from client

For a full listing of identification requirements, please see the Identification Requirements (/isdh/26792.htm) page within the
Birth Information section of this website,



