### **DEATH APPLICATION BY MAIL**

### STARKE COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT VITAL RECORDS DIVISION 108 N Pearl St KNOX, INDIANA 46534 TELEPHONE: (574) 772-9137

## APPLICATION FOR SEARCH AND CERTIFIED COPY OF **DEATH RECORD** WE HAVE STARKE COUNTY DEATHS ONLY!!!

PLEASE COMPLETE ALL ITEMS BELOW

In accordance with **Indiana Code 16-37-1-7**, requests for death certificate must include the information

| FULL NAME AT DEATH  | DATE OF DEATH   |     |
|---|---|-----|
| HOW ARE YOU RELATED TO THE ABOVE  | PERSON?   |     |
| PLACE OF DEATH (City)   | (County)  |     |
| FULL NAME OF FATHER   |   |     |
| FULL <u>MAIDEN</u> NAME OF MOTHER   |   |     |
| WHY DO YOU NEED THIS RECORD?  |   |     |
| HOW MANY COPIES DO YOU WANT?  |   |     |
| YOUR SIGNATURE  |   |     |
| YOUR NAME (Please Print)  | Daytime Phone #   |     |
| YOUR ADDRESS  | CITY/STATE  | ZIP |
| TODAY'S DATE  | _   |     |
| FORM OF IDENTIFICATION USED:  |   |     |
| REQUIREMENTS:  *NO PERSONAL CHECKS Money of the acceptable I.I.  *I.D. must be of the person making the | D-Photo I.D. or Drivers License                                     |     |
| *If ordering by mail, please enclose a s * Proof of relation  | •   |     |
|   | self addressed & stamped envelope                                   | ;   |
| * Proof of relation  FEES: 10.00 For first copy and each  | self addressed & stamped envelope  a additional copy  UNTY USE ONLY | ·   |
| * Proof of relation  FEES: 10.00 For first copy and each  CO  Bk  | self addressed & stamped envelope  a additional copy  UNTY USE ONLY | ;   |

# Who Can Obtain a Death Certificate

Indiana Codes 16-37-1-10, 16-37-1-11, and 16-37-1-11.5 serve as the State statutes for the fees, relationship, and identification requirements to purchase documents from the Vital Records office. The purchaser must have a "direct interest." A direct interest is defined as a documented and verifiable financial and legal interest or an immediate direct kinship (parent, adult sibling, or grandparent) to the person named on the record.

Others such as guardians, attorneys, funeral directors, or other authorized agents acting on behalf of the registrant or their family may demonstrate a direct interest when information is needed for determination or protection of personal or property rights.

Depending on the individual's interest in the record, additional documentation may be required.

## Direct Interest:

- Parents of the individual listed on the certificate must be listed on the record
- Spouse of individual named on the certificate must show proof of marriage
- Child or Grandchild, 18 years or older, of individual named on the certificate – must show proof of relationship
- Grandparents of the individual listed on the certificate must be parent of a parent listed on the record & show proof of relationship
- Sibling, 18 years or older, of individual listed on the certificate must show proof of relationship
- Aunt or Uncle of individual named on the certificate must show proof of relationship
- Niece or Nephew, 18 years or older, of individual named on certificate must show proof of relationship
- Genealogy individual named on the certificate must be over 75 years old at the time of death - must show proof of death
- Assigned Funeral Home/Director must provide explanation of direct interest on letterhead

#### No Direct Interest:

• Legal Interest – must provide proof of legal relationship; i.e. contract, agreements, titles, court order

For a full listing of identification requirements, please see the <u>Identification</u> Requirements page within the Death Information section of this website.